"Why should society feel responsible only for the education of children, and not for the education of all adults of every age?"

— Erich Fromm

Board of Directors

The Governing Body of the Minnesota Psychoanalytic Society and Institute

MPSI is governed by a Board of Directors composed of the members of the Education Committee of MPI and the Executive Committee of MPS. The President and CEO of the Board of Directors of MPSI is either the President of the Society or the Chair of the Education Committee in alternate years. The Board of Directors meets at least once annually to discuss and vote on changes to the organizational structure, fundraising, and financial concerns of MPSI.

EDUCATION COMMITTEE of the Minnesota Psychoanalytic Institute (MPI)

Hal Steiger, PhD, LP Education Committee Chair

Jan Search, Secretary

Jeanne Bailey, MD 

Michael Moore, MD Progression Chair

Steve Clarke, MD  Curriculum Chair

Joan Lentz, PhD, LP

Victoria Kohl, MSW  Candidate Representative 

Deb Boughton, MD

Virginia McDermott, PhD

Juliann Miller, MA LP   MPS President


EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE of the Minnesota Psychoanalytic Society (MPS)

Juliann Miller, MA, LP  Society President

Catherine Phibbs,   President-Elect

Margaret Fulton, PhD, LP  Past-President

Peter Grant, Treasurer

Paul O'Hara   Secretary

Jamie Larson Jones MS, RD, LPCC, Program Committee Chair

Tamarind Knutson, PsyD, LP  Communications Committee Chair, Member at Large

Valerie Penner, DSW, MSW,  Candidate Member at Large

Elizabeth Bohun, MSW, LICSW  Outreach Chair

Elizabeth Cashin, MA, LP  PPTP Chair

Hal Steiger, PhD, LP  Education Committee (MPI) Chair

Karen Deane Johnson  Member at Large

Molly Nicholson   Member at Large


Robert Guibord, PsyD, LP